GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Alland UE Diary - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Alland UE Diary

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alland UE Diary

As I lost all my data when BALWI closed before I could paste and copy it across to here, I will start again with an account of how I have ended up on the EU journey.

I am a small business owner on the wrong side of middle age. I started my business back in 1991 after returning to the UK from many years overseas.

As the business I am in is quite unique I soon established a good customer base and enjoyed steady growth, and building up the business to have 4 employees’ one of which is my Son. All was well until 2002 when the foot & mouth epidemic hit the UK.
    As my customers activities required access to the countryside, the ban on travelling on much of the countryside meant that my turnover almost stopped overnight.

It could not have come at a worse time, we had just invested quite a lot of cash on new equipment, I know the sensible thing would have been to close up and sit it out until the foot & mouth issue was over. But my employees (including my Son) all had homes and young families to support and I really thought the F&M disease would be quickly contained and the countryside ban would be lifted in a matter of weeks. Unfortunately it was to go on and on for months, eventually the money ran out so I started to inject cash from my credit cards to keep afloat and pay the company overheads and staff wages.

Eventually the foot & mouth disease was dealt with and the countryside was open for business again, we immediately started to see some of our customers back but the F&M countryside ban was 6 months and it took a further 6 months to get back on track to previous turnover, by this time I had pumped almost £150K into the business from my credit card accounts.