GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script To F&F or not to F&F - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To F&F or not to F&F

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To F&F or not to F&F

Newbie here, I've taken the time to read a couple of threads on here mainly the guides re F&F, as I possibly maybe in a position this year to settle some of my debts but obviously if I can reduce the costs of doing so then all well and good.
    However after researching as said its seems it is a complete minefield.
    So can anyone advise.
    Firstly is it advisable to leave secured debt and only concentrate on unsecured?
    If its not with a DCA already is it best to let it go until it does and then attempt to do a F&F after?
    The advise to do it via a third party does this have to be an individual or can it be a company cheque for example?
    The templates for the letters seem a tad cavalier in its lanaguage is this right wouldn't it carry more weight if it had a more professional tone? (no offence to the author just purely thinking of effectiveness)
    And lastly one of the guides actually suggested to not even consider F&F whatsoever as the default disappears after 6 years just play brinkmanship until then but surely the debt is still repayable until its repaid as everyone would do that wouldn't they?..or am I missing something??

Many Thanks in advance

Re: To F&F or not to F&F

Hiya

Ok, hard to determine what your situation is with so little details but to answer your questions presuming you wanted to go UE then;

1. You cannot go UE with secured debts, that'd be a bit mad so yes, stick to unsecured debts from before April 2007. If you want to make offers then you will struggle to get acceptance on secure debts anyway;
    2. Yes if it is unsecured and you want to make an offer and don't mind a default being registered then you get better deals by waiting till its sold on, naturally;