GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Could I possibly have some advice with a default notice received? - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Could I possibly have some advice with a default notice received?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Could I possibly have some advice with a default notice received?

Hi people, I was an old member and used to follow a thread on another forum on which NID helped me with some unenforceable agreements. I can't find any logins so i'll start a fresh.

As for this one, it is for a Pitney Bowes Purhase power account.
    I was a sole trader and the account was a "Hire agreement regulated by the consumer credit act 1974" I presume this runs on the same rules as a card or loan etc(correct me if I'm wrong)
    In simple terms business came to a pretty blunt end a few months back. I owed about £1100 which was the only real debt I had and I offered an amount I could afford to repay i.e. £20 a week, they pushed for £50 a week which after a couple of weeks failed as I could not afford it.
    Yesterday I received what was headed as "Default notice", it looks sort of similar to those I had from the credit card accounts but there are a few key elements that even I know are not correct.

I did not receive any notice that they were about to default the account.
    The date on the notice is 29th May, the date on the envelope is 03-06-14.
    The notice only gives 5 days working days from the date on the letter for cleared payment to be received, I know from experience that they consider cleared payment to take 3 days so they are effectively giving 2 working days from the letter date to pay in full but the notice was not posted for 5 days. Catch 22.