GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Agreement to Pay impact - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Agreement to Pay impact

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Agreement to Pay impact

Hi All,

As a bit of background - when I was a student I realised I could open a current account with smile (cooperative bank) with a £500 Interest Free overdraft.
    At the time I saw this as magical - and even better that they let me open 3 of these accounts.

In July 2010, smile wrote to me informing me that I had broken the t&cs of the account and that my overdraft facility had been withdrawn and I was required to repay the full overdraft amount £500 (on all 3 accounts).

I couldn't repay the amounts in full immediately, so agreed to pay off £30/month on each account (£90/month in total) until the balances were paid off.
    In agreeing to this payment plan, I received multiple letters from smile indicating that a default would be applied to my credit report on each of the accounts.

I have recently looked at my credit report with Equifax, and I notice that these three accounts do not show as ever having a default, but that from July 10 to Dec 11, the status is marked as "AP".

I thought this was a bit of a bonus as for the last couple of years I had assumed I had 3 defaults on my credit report and so would be very unlikely to get any credit at all, I have never seen any advice/warnings about APs, only defaults, ccjs and bankruptcy.

I have now graduated, am working and earning a reasonable salary and would like to start thinking about a mortgage.

My questions are:

1. How much of an impact will "Agreements to pay" (related to 3 accounts for a period of about 18months (July10 - Dec 11)) affect any credit applications, and specifically if I am going to start looking at mortgage applications will I have any chance of being accepted or is the "AP" as bad as a default or ccj??