GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Possible Unlawful Defaults - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible Unlawful Defaults

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible Unlawful Defaults

Hi All,

First post so please be gentle. I am coming to the end of a DMP I have been paying religiously since 2009 and am in a position to offer settlements.

I have finally summoned up the courage to check my Experian report, I have 758 points. I have had a Capital one card since 2012 which has been paid every month. I also have a flawless mortgage record as well.

My problem is that of the 10 companies I am paying too through the DMP 7 have registered defaults. 4 of them I have no issue with as they were issued in 2009, one is 2010, one is 2011 and one is 2013! Clearly the 2013 default is wrong on every level, however what is the best way of challenging them on this?

My initial thought is to make the removal of it a condition of the full and final settlement whilst backing that up wit/
    h threats of reporting them to the ICO under principle 4 of the DPA (information must be up to date an accurate). Does anyone think that this route would be successful?

My second thought would be to just go full aggressive mode and ignore any settlement and just go with reporting them to the ICO and possibly the FSO.

As some background I am no stranger to litigating against financial institutions having successfully sued MBNA under the data protection act for reporting defaults on a card that they knew had been obtained in my name by identity theft, Went to court and everything. (That was back in the days before I had arrears and a DMP!).

Any help at this stage would be gratefully accepted as most of my defaults drop off next year and I am looking to move house. The 3 defaults that I wish to have changed are -

Co-Op Bank (Smile Account) - Default 2013 - DMP Started 2009