GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Barney's unenforceable MBNA thread - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Barney's unenforceable MBNA thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Barney's unenforceable MBNA thread

Newbie here, be gentle please.

A potted history of how I came to be here:-

Early 2009:
    After losing job (redundancy) in 2007 followed by a year of unemployment and then only obtaining poorly paid work, I wrote to creditors asking them to accept greatly reduced payments and freeze interest due to hardship. Had a battle with both credit card companies for several months, with one eventually accepting nominal payments and eventually freezing interest & charges. (Those nominal payments are still ongoing at present - so no imminent problem there).

Different story with MBNA (previously Abbey Credit Card):

Flatly refused to accept any reduction at all, despite at that stage not being overlimit, never missed payment, account with Abbey since early 1990's. The only reason given was that I had made "recent non-essential purchases". The account was, at the time, perfectly maintained as far as they were concerned (in fact they must have made many thousands of pounds off me over the years - minimum payments mainly with almost all being interest with a rate that had been slowly increased to around 32% from around 12% a few years before).The card had not been used for two or three months and the only purchases that could be seen to be non-essential totalled around £30 for children's presents around Christmas.

I appealed for them to reconsider, but only received a further blunt rejection.

I could only afford to pay the reduced payments I had asked them to accept, so started paying that amount and had to further reduce to nominal payments a few months later.