GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script DCA won't let me pay by standing order - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DCA won't let me pay by standing order

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DCA won't let me pay by standing order

I've a credit card debt with Regal Credit Consultants - its post April 2007 - so concentrating on the pre-2007 ones first. I've got the payment agreed to a level I can afford and its always paid on time.

But.....they take the payment using the bank card for my bank account. I am closing this bank account and want to pay from another account but by standing order. They refuse. They have a link on their website to request a standing order form but when you request it they call you and say no!

Any advise - I'm sure this can't be fair as long as I pay the right amount and on time surely I can pay how I like?!

Re: DCA won't let me pay by standing order

Im not an expert, and some mods may give you better advise, but as far as i am aware they have no choice but to accept any form of reconised payment.

Most will wish you to pay by direct debit, i hate that idea, as you have no control, however with a standing order you are the one in control, which is why they refuse, as you could cancel the payment whenever you wish.

My advise would be to remind them that they can not refuse a method of payment if it is a legal method, something a long those lines.

If worst comes to worst, i guess you could ask for their bank details, pay it in directly, using a reference that signifies the money is from you.

Infact if it was me, id refuse to pay until they accept the standing order, what they gonna do? take you to court, sorry your honour but i offered to pay, they refused to accept the standing order, nothing i could do about it lol
    Last edited by SXGuy; 30 January 2012, 09:15.