GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script BANK OVERDRAFT TRITON - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BANK OVERDRAFT TRITON

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BANK OVERDRAFT TRITON

I took over a small business from my dad about 10 years ago. I took out an overdreft with RBS. They increased my limit whenever I got near it. By Jan this year it was 20k and I exceeded it due to their charges.They then wrote and asked for the whole lot back. I propoed a plan, they ignored me. I complained & they apologised for ignoring my plan but said they could not accept it as I it was a joint account. I got a letter from Triton saying pay 23k or ring us. I rang and they said they would accept 13k. I thought this was conceeded too easily & found yr site. The letter says Mr (no intial) xxx then my company name. I dont think they know exactly who they are writing to me or my Dad. I am a sole trader,I have nothing of value but I do have collateral in my house. Can anyone advise if they could go after this ? Should I start the unenforceability letters now or wait a while?

Thanks

Spanner

Re: BANK OVERDRAFT TRITON

The overdraft was unsecured. I just dont want to turn down a settlement offer if they can take me to court, be forced to sell my house in order to pay them the full amount.I dont think they can because my wife owns half but I would be interested to know what the forum think.

Thanks Spanner

Comment

Hi spanner,
      Overdrafts are tricky and often enforceable as they don't fall under exactly the same rules as credit cards and loans. It is a large amount they say you owe and there's no guarantee that they wouldn't go to court with this. They could then get a Charging Order on your home to secure the debt, although forced sales are rare.
      That said, the more points of dispute you can raise, the better, in order to beat them down to a low settlement figure.