GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Help Needed - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed

A few years ago. I was out of work and signed on as well claimed council tax concession. At the time, at that time my accountant had moved some of my pension, 50k from a SIP company to set up a Limited Company which I was intending to use as a travel tour company in Burma, once the political situation improved there. When I was in danger of losing my house, in desperation I took several Director's loans of around 5k from my company. I had fully intended to repay the money, as I worked as an IT contractor needed to be able use a limited company whenever, I went back to work.

In the end, all this failed, I lost my house and I was having to go into bankruptcy but then I got called to be interviewed by the DWP and the local council, stating that I had been claiming even though I had other money available to me. All my attempts to explain that I perceived the money in the Limited Company as part of my pension being invested but it just so happened that I was the MD of the company. They stated that since I was the only director, then it was my money. I pointed out that years of being a contractor had taught me that I could not treat the money as mine.

All the explanations fell on deaf ears and they ruled that I should pay back the money. In their explanation they stated that it was because I had used the lump sum of my pension even though, I had told them repeatedly that it was not my lump sum. In the end, I decided not to argue as I knew that I was going into bankruptcy.