GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Newbie here, help appreciated... - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here, help appreciated...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here, help appreciated...

Hi,

I have had two texts and a letter in the last three days from Bryan Carter Solicitors, on behalf of Fredrickson International/Lowell's about an old credit card debt.

It should go to Statute Barred on 15th September this year, 6 years since default.

They are threatening to apply for a CCJ in 14 days.

I guess I just need advice on if they are likely to actually do it, and if I'd be better off sending some sort of 'Prove It' letter to them?

Trouble is, the debt is mine (please don't judge!) So can they prove it, do you think?

The statue barred date is going from the recorded 'default' date from Noddle website.

I was in a bad place a few years ago, mental and physical illness etc. I'm better now, in some ways, but living hand to mouth so cannot afford to pay them. I know it's my debt, but the bank could see I was unwell and out of control each time they happily extended my credit.

Any advice much appreciated!

Re: Newbie here, help appreciated...

Just to add, the screenshot I took off Noddle some time ago, shows the 'default' date as 14th September 2009, but has the last green entry (assuming this is a payment made) at May 2009, with an orange coloured 1 for June, an orange coloured 2 for July, a red coloured 3 for August and a red D (for default) on September 2009. Does this mean that the statute barred would actually be from the first missed payment, which looks like it was June 2009? This would mean it's definitely statute barred by 1st July this year, right?

Comment