GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script DWP, HB and Students - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DWP, HB and Students

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DWP, HB and Students

This is a two part thread to be honest and I will link both parts when I have done them.

Anyway , I have just started a degree and went into the council last week to hand in my Uni registration documents and also tell them about telling the DWP I was starting Uni. ( See other thread)

I received a letter saying all my benefits have been suspended until I can tell them either when my ESA stops or if it is continuing, I have until 30th Oct to tell them or they will cancel my claim and i would need to start another. Then today I got a new CT demand for normal CT payments , about £360

I know this lot of old they are really stupid but my understanding is that as a full time student living alone I am exempt CT . They have acknowledged that I am a student in the letter. I have provided my registration documents

Even after just a week I am finding the course enjoyable but a little stressful ( I don't deal well with that) and this extra crap is just getting to me

Any sage words of advice please

The other thread http://forums.all-about-debt.co.uk/s...590#post437590
    Last edited by Pat; 5 October 2014, 13:37.

DWP, student and HB

I have just started as a full time student. Up until then I was on ESA (WRAG) and DLA lower rate mobility.
    I am getting a loan of £5555 p.a and a special support grant

I am told that because I am on DLA I can continue claiming ESA although I think that my income will be just over the limit

Is it possible to be awarded ESA yet not get any money i.e have an underlying entitlement .

As for HB I am also told that if I qualify for ESA I will get HB, the other option is to send in sick notes (to the council I think) because I have been sick for 26 weeks prior and I will still get HB.