GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Finding it difficult to get insured due to mileage - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Finding it difficult to get insured due to mileage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding it difficult to get insured due to mileage

From dec 3rd i'll be doing 30000+ miles a year.

I am finding it incredibly difficult to insure my Nissan Micra for anything under £1500.

So looks like due to insurance and Petrol costs i may have to not take this Job with Barclays which obviously isnt good in the grand scheme of things and leaves me almost in same situation as have been since May - Jobless (at least after xmas anyway)

i have had it suggested to register as Self Employed and claim the tax back on fuel and thought could this work out cheaper and legit??

Plus tbh i dont know the ins and outs of Self Employment so dont know what to think about it that way
    I am an IT Professional with a Background in most Microsoft Based Technologies. Currently Proud to Work at one of the Leading UK Universities. I have that Mentality of "If I can provide Useful Input - then I will Try my best to do so"

Life is full of Ups and Downs. Shame it just aint simple.

Re: Finding it difficult to get insured due to mileage

Were you offered a job at Barclays?

Look at Hastings direct. We just saved £500pa by using them. We do 30,000+ miles a year easily!!

Well our car was new in sept 07 (16 miles) and now has 150,000

* waste of £16k

Hastings don't ask for annual mileage
    I'm the forum administrator and I look after the theme & features, our volunteers & users and also look after any complaints or Data Protection queries that pass through the forum or main website. I am extremely busy so if you do contact me or need a reply to a forum post then use the email or PM features offered because I do miss things and get tied up for days at a time!