GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Can you advise? - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you advise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you advise?

Hi there,

totally new to this site and a total novice when it comes to anything financial. Hope you can help??

My name's Steve and i've lived and worked Bangkok, Thailand for the last 4 years. I work for a non-profit NGO organising volunteer projects to help the needy across the country.

Due to my previous poor financial management i ran up a credit card debt of around 4,000GBP. My card was stopped and my debt passed to the DCA, Debitas. I originally set up a direct debit with them through my bosses uk account for 140.00GBP each month which was the maximum i could afford at the time. This DD lasted for about 18 months until my boss closed his HSBC account.

My final payment was in October 2011 and now my mother, who sill lives in the UK, has just received a few phone calls from Cougar Financial Services asking to speak to me. She told the caller she would get a message to me.

Now i suppose my question is, does anybody know where i stand with repaying what is left on the debt? I have no intention of returning to the UK. I'm married and have a child here in Thailand. If anybody can let me know i would be extremely grateful. If you require any further details about my situation, please let me know .

Thanks for your time and i look forward to hearing anything that anybody can tell me.

Steve

Re: Can you advise?

Just ignore it. They can't touch you. You're quite safe

As for your mum. Next time they call she needs to say "sorry it's not me; I dunno what you want; go away" kinda thing