GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Is it a debit or a credit card? - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it a debit or a credit card?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it a debit or a credit card?

I have a mastercard debit card. Except, it seems when it comes to Travelodge. They class it as a Mastercard credit card. Possibly because they charge an extra £2 for payments by it.

I've had a similar problem with other places where they just don't accept it as either.

Should I mention it to my bank? The whole point of them changing from Maestro to Mastercard was that it's accepted in more places, and it is a lot better, but there still seems to be little problems.

I know it's only a couple of quid, but it's more the inconvenience really. I must have tried putting the number in four times before changing the card type!

Re: Is it a debit or a credit card?

Originally posted by Ames View Post
    I have a mastercard debit card. Except, it seems when it comes to Travelodge. They class it as a Mastercard credit card. Possibly because they charge an extra £2 for payments by it.

I've had a similar problem with other places where they just don't accept it as either.

Should I mention it to my bank? The whole point of them changing from Maestro to Mastercard was that it's accepted in more places, and it is a lot better, but there still seems to be little problems.

I know it's only a couple of quid, but it's more the inconvenience really. I must have tried putting the number in four times before changing the card type!
    Yorkshire Bank are crap, why not just move to a normal bank that issues Visa debit card Ames....?

I am guessing it's YB with the MC Card, as they're still the main ones (if not only ones) to issue them (why...?)

But the bank won't do much, they need to fix the BIN to show as a debit card, this could be either / or your banks fault or the motels..... hard to say really.