GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Been paying token payments for years: what are my options? - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Been paying token payments for years: what are my options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Been paying token payments for years: what are my options?

Hi All,

Please bear with me while I fill you in on my case.

I’ve been paying token payments to DCAs for 10 years, first by arrangement with them, then 5 years ago through a legal aid charity. Total debts: £40 across 7 debts.

The monthly token payments are £20 in total, which I can afford.

I’ve had no trouble from any of them the past 5 years, but recently got a letter from Drydens Fairfax, one of the DCAs, asking me for an update on my current situation and asking me to fill in a financial questionnaire.

I replied straight away saying that I am unable to increase repayments, and that if I’m pursued for more, as I have no property or savings, I will declare myself bankrupt, which is true. Being self-employed, my income is hugely variable and anything I put down on a financial questionnaire could be accurate now but not in 2 months. My situation is that I don’t even have a tenancy agreement in my name, rely on staying with a couple of friends, sometimes family, so any extra money I make needs to cover that, not go to a DCA!

When the charity negotiated on my behalf with Drydens 5 years ago, they asked them for the CCAs, to which they replied ‘we have requested them from the original creditor’. 5 years on, nothing. But they have the nerve to ask me for financial details. I didn’t add ‘you haven’t provided me with CCAs’ as I wasn’t confident with how to proceed with that so many years later.