GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Can they take my assets if my husband is going bankcrupt? - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can they take my assets if my husband is going bankcrupt?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can they take my assets if my husband is going bankcrupt?

Hi!

I am a newbie and I am gripped by me desire to make 2011 the year I set my finances straight. My husband has been toying with the idea of bankcruptcy for some time now but we have decided as a last resort that its without question the best way forward - he has around £80,000 of debt and despite 3 offers pf payment made to legal &General they have now pentioned a bankruptcy order against him so he has made provisions to declare himself bankcrupt voluntarily.
    What we need to really know is what exactly are they allowed to do in term of assets etc. My husband owns nothing other than a house which is in arrears and negative equity which he has a tennant renting off him. We rent privately and there is nothing on hp etc. My question is would they be able to take anything of mine- I own my own car but its in my name - are they able to take anything from our home such as furniture/tv etc if obviously I say its mine! We are in the dark a litte regarding what our rights are.

Any experience or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Can they take my assets if my husband is going bankcrupt

Hi Sunflower and welcome to the site.

I think you can rest assured that no one will be coming round and taking your sofa. It is a very scary time, I am not BR but have had a worring time thinking it might be my only option so have done lots of research.

Anyway I am just here posting a little welcome and one of the other guys will be along soon to offer some more pratical advice.