GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script CIFAS marker (misuse of facility) - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

CIFAS marker (misuse of facility)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CIFAS marker (misuse of facility)

Hello all,

I hope I am posting this in the correct section. Please let me know if not.

I have a Cifas marker placed by RBS in 2019 for misuse of facility.

Whilst I was a student, I used to sell items on eBay and use my account to receive payments so I think the marker is related to this. My account was frozen after the buyer reported me for fraud and kept the item And the money.

Me and my wife are looking at buying our first house after saving up for a deposit for years. I've only just found out about the marker. I have applied for subject access request from Cifas and I have just sent SAR to RBS.

My question is has anyone managed to secure a mortgage with a Cifas marker? Maybe a lender who is not a member of Cifas. Any mortgage advisor who may help? Any advise and guidance would be very much appreciated.

Or does anyone know a good legal advisor/solicitor who has a good success rate. The marker does not expire for another 4 years and renting for this long is not an option.

Many thanks for reading and any help.

NICK

Never-In-Doubt
    I'm an official AAD Moderator and also a volunteer, here to help make the forum run smoothly. Any views or opinions are mine and not the official line of AAD. Similarly, any advice I have offered you is done so on an informal basis, without prejudice or liability. If in doubt seek advice from a qualified insured professional - Find a Solicitor or go to the National Probono Centre.

If you spot an abusive or libellous post then please report it by Clicking Here. If you need to contact me, for instance if I've issued you a warning, moved, edited or deleted your post, please send me a message by clicking my username.

Comment