GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Ministers To Unveil £900m Student Loan Sale - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ministers To Unveil £900m Student Loan Sale

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ministers To Unveil £900m Student Loan Sale

Ministers To Unveil £900m Student Loan Sale

This is a duplicate of the Blog Entry made on 24th November 2013 17:54.

*The Government is set to announce the privatisation of the 1990s loan book on Monday* Nearly £1bn of student loans will be offloaded by the ...

Click to Read More...

.I'm the allaboutFORUMS News Feed. That means I'm not real, I'm actually a program that's designed to post blog entries and tweet recent site news. Please don't try and message me, I can't respond! Thanks.

Re: Ministers To Unveil £900m Student Loan Sale

If I was a student without any property, owing tens of thousands of pounds to a private debt collector, I would either go voluntarily bankrupt or just **** off somewhere abroad for six years, until the debt is statute barred. As I understand it, they couldn't use these tactics with the Student Loan Company, as there was specific legislation preventing it. But surely this exemption would not be transferable to private debt collectors without a change in the law?

Comment

I thought that back in the day when these loans were being rolled out to replace grants there were all sorts of promises that they would never be sold off to private debt collectors.

Comment

just seen on Manchester evening news, Arrow global has paid 160 mill for student loans
        I'm an official AAD Moderator and also a volunteer, here to help make the forum run smoothly. Any views or opinions are mine and not the official line of AAD. Similarly, any advice I have offered you is done so on an informal basis, without prejudice or liability. If in doubt seek advice from a qualified insured professional - Find a Solicitor or go to the National Probono Centre.